Money-Laundering

Luxembourg updates its national assessment of money laundering and terrorist financing risks

15/12/2020

Luxembourg has just finalised the update of its National Risk Assessment on Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing (ENR 2020). The ENR 2002 was conducted under the direction of the Ministry of Justice and adopted on 15 September 2020 by the Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Prevention Committee (BC/FT Prevention Committee).

 

Financial crime is a destabilizing factor in economies and damages the integrity and reputation of the financial sector.

Money laundering and terrorist financing are two of the main components of financial crime.

Money laundering involves putting back into the legal system capital whose origin is illegal or even criminal, such as organized crime, trafficking in narcotics, weapons, works of art, the exploitation of prostitution, aggravated tax evasion.....

Terrorist financing is the purpose of providing or raising funds with the intention of having them used or knowing that they will be used to commit or attempt to commit acts of terrorism.

The amended Anti-Money Laundering and Financing Act of 12 November 2004 lists and details the anti-money laundering/terrorist financing obligations of professionals.

With regard to insurance, life insurance and credit/guarantee activities are covered by the aforementioned law. Professionals practising these branches of insurance are thus subject to strict professional obligations, especially in terms of knowledge and identification of their clients as well as constant vigilance throughout the business relationship. Failure to do so can result in heavy financial penalties and even criminal penalties.

Under its legal mission, it is the responsibility of the Office of the Insurance Commissioner (caa.lu), the supervisory authority of the insurance sector, to ensure compliance with professional obligations in the fight against money laundering and the financing of terrorism by all individuals and corporations under its supervision.

The Financial Intelligence Unit (FRC) is part of the Luxembourg Economic and Financial Prosecutor's Office. Its mission is to receive statements of suspicion from professionals in the area of money laundering and terrorist financing, to analyse them and to pass them on, if necessary, to the prosecuting authorities.

The ACA's "AML" Working Group, which groups all insurance/reinsurance companies subject to the law on money laundering and terrorist financing, addresses all issues and themes relating to money laundering and terrorist financing. It also develops "best practices" in the fight against money laundering and the financing of terrorism. In particular, it has drawn up a list of potential indicators of suspicion under the primary offence of laundering aggravated tax evasion or tax evasion. This list is published on our website.

Anti-Blanchiment

Actualité

Le Luxembourg actualise son évaluation nationale des risques de blanchiment de capitaux et de financement du terrorisme

15/12/2020

Le Luxembourg vient de finaliser la mise à jour de son évaluation nationale des risques en matière de blanchiment de capitaux et de financement du terrorisme (ENR 2020). L'ENR 2002 a été réalisée sous la direction du ministère de la Justice et adopte le 15 septembre 2020 par le Comité de prévention du blanchiment et financement du terrorisme (Comité de prévention BC/FT)

 

La criminalité financière constitue un facteur de déstabilisation des économies et elle nuit à l’intégrité ainsi qu’à la réputation du secteur financier.

Le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme sont deux des principales composantes de la criminalité financière.

Le blanchiment de capitaux consiste à remettre dans le circuit légal des capitaux dont l’origine est illicite, voire criminelle, tels que la criminalité organisée, le trafic de stupéfiants, d’armes, d’œuvres d’art, l’exploitation de la prostitution, la fraude fiscale aggravée…..

Le financement du terrorisme consiste à fournir ou à réunir des fonds dans l’intention de les voir utilisés ou en sachant qu’ils seront utilisés en vue de commettre ou de tenter de commettre des actes de terrorisme.

La loi modifiée du 12 novembre 2004 relative à la lutte contre le blanchiment et le financement du terrorisme  énumère et décrit en détail les obligations des professionnels en matière de lutte anti-blanchiment / financement du terrorisme.

Concernant l’assurance, les activités d’assurance-vie et de crédit / cautions sont visées par la loi précitée. Les professionnels pratiquant ces branches d’assurance sont ainsi soumis à des obligations professionnelles strictes, notamment en matière de connaissance et d’identification de leurs clients ainsi que de vigilance constante tout au long de la relation d’affaire. Le manquement à ces obligations professionnelles peut entraîner des sanctions financières lourdes et même des sanctions pénales.

En vertu de sa mission légale, il incombe au Commissariat aux Assurances (caa.lu), autorité de contrôle du secteur des assurances, d’assurer le respect des obligations professionnelles en matière de lutte contre le blanchiment et le financement du terrorisme par toutes les personnes physiques et morales relevant de sa surveillance.

La Cellule de Renseignement Financier (CRF) fait partie du Parquet économique et financier du Luxembourg. Elle a pour mission de recevoir les déclarations de soupçon de la part des professionnels en matière de blanchiment et de financement du terrorisme, de les analyser et de les transmettre, le cas échéant, aux autorités de poursuite.

Le Groupe de Travail « AML » de l’ACA qui groupe toutes les entreprises d’assurance / réassurance soumises à la législation en matière de blanchiment et de financement du terrorisme, traite toutes les problématiques et thématiques relatives au blanchiment et au financement du terrorisme. Il élabore également des « best practices » dans le cadre de la lutte contre le blanchiment et le financement du terrorisme. Ainsi, il a notamment établi une liste d’indicateurs potentiels de soupçon au titre de l’infraction primaire de blanchiment de fraude fiscale aggravée ou d’escroquerie fiscale. Cette liste est publiée sur notre site internet.