Triangle of securtiy

A reinforced Luxembourg Triangle of Security

European Directive 2001/17/ECon the reorganisationand winding-up of insurance undertakings provides Member States with two methods for the treatment of insurance claims. Since the entry into force of this Directive, Luxembourg has elected to grant insurance claims absolute priority over any other claimsagainst theinsurance undertaking.

 

This rightoverinsurance receivables is sometimes referred to as a "super-privilege". It is a key element in the protection of the rightsof creditors under insurance contracts concluded with Luxembourg insurance companies. It allows insurance creditorsto exercise claims under their insurance contractsin priority to all other creditorsof the insurance company(and in particular employees, shareholders, social security institutionsand the State).

 

In addition, Luxembourg law requires that the insurance company treat the assets representing its insurance liabilities as distinct,andmanaged separately,from its own assets. These representative assets must be deposited with a custodian bank. A custodyagreement binds the insurance company and the bank and must be approved by the Commissariat aux Assurances (CAA) before the deposit of any representative assets. Insurance creditors (policyholders and/or beneficiaries)thus have the status of super-privileged creditors over the segregatedassets corresponding to their contracts.

 

This system of protection for insurance claims is commonly referred to as the "Triangleof Security" because of the involvementof three parties: insurance company, custodian bank and CAA. TheTriangle of Security provides a form of legal protection that is unique in Europe and is one of the significant advantages of a life insurance policy concludedwith a Luxembourg insurance company.

 

In the contextof financial marketrisk, the law of 10 August 2018strengthened the existingframeworkby further clarifyinghow the Triangleof Security is to be implemented.

 

The legislation states clearly that life insurance contracts linked to investment funds, and guaranteed return life insurance contracts,correspond to separate pools of assets. Each of these pools of assets is reserved primarily for the execution of commitments underthe corresponding type of contract.

 

The super-privilege of insurance creditors over the separate assets corresponding to their contracts is now classedas a first ranking claim(privilège de premier rang)and, as a result,is strengthened.

 

Life insurance receivables for which the investment risk is borne by the policyholder (e.g. unit-linked investments) are valued by referenceto the number of units held on the day the liquidation is opened. For other types of investment (e.g. guaranteed-capitalinvestments), insurance receivables are equal to the value of the corresponding technical provisions on the day the liquidation is opened.

 

The protection of consumers' rights, and in particular the prospectof compensation within a reasonable timeframe, is further enhanced by the option to satisfy insurance claims by transferringsome or all assets in specierather than transferring the proceeds of their liquidation

 

Learn more

Triangle de sécurité

La place luxembourgeoise offre un triangle de sécurité renforcé

La Directive européenne de 2001 sur l’assainissement et la liquidation des entreprises d’assurance met à disposition des Etats membres deux méthodes pour le traitement des créances d’assurance. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de cette directive, le Luxembourg a opté pour l’octroi d’un privilège absolu par rapport à toute autre créance sur l'entreprise d'assurance.

 

Ce privilège accordé aux créances d’assurance est parfois appelé « super-privilège ». Il constitue un élément  clé de la protection des avoirs des créanciers de contrats d’assurance souscrit auprès d’une société luxembourgeoise. Cette qualité leur permet de récupérer en priorité sur tout autre créancier de la société d’assurance - notamment l’Etat, les salariés et les organismes de sécurité sociale - les créances relatives à l’exécution de leurs contrats d’assurance

 

Par ailleurs, la loi luxembourgeoise exige que la société d’assurance traite les actifs représentatifs de ses engagements d’assurance comme un patrimoine distinct géré séparément de ses actifs propres. Ces actifs représentatifs doivent ainsi être déposés auprès d’une banque dite « dépositaire ». Une convention de dépôt lie la société d’assurance et la banque et doit être approuvée par le Commissariat aux Assurances (CAA) préalablement au dépôt des actifs représentatifs. Les créanciers d’assurance (preneurs et/ou bénéficiaires) ont ainsi une qualité de créanciers « super-privilégiés » sur le(s) patrimoine(s) séparé(s) correspondants à leur(s) contrat(s).

 

Ce système de protection des créances d’assurance est appelé communément « triangle de sécurité » du fait de l’intervention protectrice de trois acteurs : société d’assurance, banque dépositaire et CAA. Ce triangle de sécurité offre une protection juridique unique en Europe et est l’un des importants avantages du contrat d’assurance vie souscrit auprès d’une société d’assurance luxembourgeoise.

 

Prenant en compte l’évolution des risques sur les marchés financiers, le législateur luxembourgeois, pragmatique et réactif, a avec la loi du 10/08/2018 renforcé le dispositif existant en précisant les modalités de mise en œuvre du triangle de sécurité.

 

Il est clairement affirmé que l’ensemble des contrats d’assurance-vie liés à des fonds d’investissement, ainsi que l’ensemble des contrats d’assurance-vie à rendement garanti font l’objet de patrimoines distincts. Chacun de ces patrimoines est réservé prioritairement à l’exécution des engagements des contrats correspondants.

Le super-privilège des créanciers d’assurance sur ce(s) patrimoine(s) séparé(s) correspondants à leur(s) contrat(s) est désormais qualifié de « privilège de premier rang » et en ressort renforcé.

 

Les créances d’assurance-vie pour lesquelles le risque de placement est supporté par le preneur (placements en unités de compte), sont évaluées en fonction du nombre d’unités détenues au jour de l’ouverture de la liquidation. Pour les autres types de placements (à capital garanti), les créances d’assurance sont égales à la valeur des provisions techniques correspondantes au jour de l’ouverture de la liquidation.

 

La protection des droits des consommateurs, et plus particulièrement la possibilité d’une indemnisation dans des délais raisonnables, est renforcée par la possibilité offerte au créancier super-privilégié de se voir transférer, à défaut de leur liquidation, tout ou partie des actifs liés à son contrat